Events

Events at the AutoMuseum Volkswagen.

The Volkswagen AutoMuseum is in a state of perpetual motion: besides an ever-expanding range of exhibits, there is a constant stream of new and exciting attractions in the form of regular special shows, readings or photo exhibitions. Discover the traditional world of Volkswagen. We look forward to seeing you.

Bernd Luz: Legends of Le Mans. Abstact PopArt.

Special show from 29 March to 13 August 2017.

The 24-hour race at Le Mans first took place in 1923. The moving story of this automobile protagonist, the racing legend on four wheels, is put into the spotlight by the artist Bernd Luz with elements of abstract and pop art. The result is richly coloured, emotional images that can be seen from 29 March to 13 August 2017 in the series “MobilArt. Art at the AutoMuseum Volkswagen”.  

Open temptation. Cabriolet milestones.

Special exhibition from 16 March to 17 September 2017.

From 16 March to 17 September 2017 a pure fair-weather feeling wafts into the AutoMuseum Volkswagen. The new special exhibition “Open temptation. Cabriolet milestones.” embarks on a journey through the history of the cabriolet spanning more than 130 years. At the beginning of car manufacturing, open-topped cars were the rule, only to become coveted luxury goods in the 1920s. This was followed by an ever-wider range, including lower-cost cabriolet and roadsters. In modern times, driving fun came to the fore. On display are 22 selected models across all brands. They show the rich variety of these “topless models”, giving an insight into different convertible-top technologies.

Ruppe Piccolo: Ruppe was an automobile manufacturer that did business in Apolda, Thüringen from 1904 to 1910. Due to economic problems, it was acquired by the Apollo company. Installed in this car were a V2, a V4 and finally an in-line four-cylinder unit. The engine was mounted in front, and the emancipation from the carriage had already triumphed. A folding cover could be stretched over the occupants. In those times, there either was no windscreen or doors in such cars, or they were just improvised.

Ruppe Piccolo, 1905

Horch 853 A: Horch was one of the brands of the Auto Union, which was founded in 1932. Sold under this name were premium and luxury class cars with the four rings – ranging up to the posh twelve-cylinder models. The 850 model series followed the "Horch  8". In 1937, the re-engineered 853 sport convertible made its debut – here with a 5.35 m long factory body. Starting in 1937, the 5.0-litre in-line eight-cylinder unit produced 120 instead of 100 PS. The 853 A ("A" stood for "Autobahn") got a rev-reducing "overdrive gear".

Horch 853 A, 1937

Victoria Spatz: Entry-level cars like the Isetta or the Kleinschnittger – ridiculed by some in their era as "traffic stoppers" – were however always better than a two-wheeled vehicle in the rain. After all, 1,588 units of the plastic roadster from Bavaria, which had no doors had been manufactured within two years. Participating in its development were Egon Brütsch and then Hans Ledwinka.

Victoria Spatz, 1958

Škoda Felicia: Roadsters and small convertibles were also built in the Eastern Bloc – from Wartburg in Eisenach and Škoda in Mlada Boleslav. In 1959, the previous Škoda model 450 was renamed the "Felicia", and now there was also a hardtop. The engine was mounted in front, and the rear wheels were driven. At first, the four-seater still had rear fins (like in this everyday model used in the Czech Republic), which later gave way to a simpler termination of the rear section.

Skoda Felicia, 1961

Mazda MX 5: Ironically, it was the Japanese who revived the segment of sharp roadsters in the late 1980s. The Mazda Miata, first introduced in the USA, had the appearance of a new edition of the Lotus, and it became a cult car – in Europe as the MX-5. A special aspect of the two-seater was that it continued to embody the classic virtues of small English sports cars: mechanically operated emergency soft top, a snappy engine under a long bonnet, rear-wheel drive and a small boot.

Mazda MX 5, 1989

T-Cross Breeze: Off-road convertibles appear to be setting a new trend. Land Rover was the first to put such a car into production with the Evoque. But the technology of the VW T-Cross Breeze concept vehicle is much more advanced. The off-road convertible positioned in the Polo class (a short 4.13 m in length) was presented in Geneva in March 2016. Last but not least, it could fit ideally into the brand's future model range based on its future-oriented technical features.

T-Cross Breeze, 2016

Seeing behind the eyes.

Abstract photographs from China and Germany from 10 January to 18 March 2017.

In his exhibition 'Seeing Behind the Eyes' photographer Kai Grüber explores the question of individual perception of reality. From 10 January to 19 March 2017, the Volkswagen AutoMuseum is showing abstract photographs from China and Germany that, thanks to blurring, leave plenty of scope for the viewer's own interpretation of the images.

Seeing Behind the Eyes...

Events

Events im AutoMuseum Volkswagen.

Das AutoMuseum Volkswagen ist immer in Bewegung: Neben den kontinuierlichen Ergänzungen der Exponate werden auch durch regelmäßige Sonderschauen, Lesungen oder Fotoausstellungen neue, reizvolle Akzente gesetzt. Erleben Sie die Traditionswelt von Volkswagen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch.

Lookbook No. 3.

Volkswagen Artwork by Klaus Trommer vom 30. August 2017 bis 21. Januar 2018.

Lookbook No. 3 – hinter diesem Titel verbergen sich lebensfrohe und farbenprächtige, fast dreidimensional wirkende Grafiken und Fotos von historischen Volkswagen-Modellen. Der renommierte Artworker Klaus Trommer  hat diese für die Volkswagen Zubehör GmbH gestaltet, die sie ihren Lizenznehmern im Merchandising als kreativen Input zur Verfügung stellen. Die dritte Auflage des Buches umfasst 180 Motive, von denen eine repräsentative Auswahl im Rahmen der Reihe „MobilArt. Kunst im AutoMuseum Volkswagen“ vom 30. August 2017 bis 21. Januar 2018 gezeigt wird.

Bernd Luz: Legends of Le Mans. Abstrakte PopArt.

Sonderschau vom 29. März bis 13. August 2017.

Das 24-Stunden-Rennen von Le Mans wurde erstmals 1923 ausgetragen. Die bewegende Geschichte seiner automobilen Hauptdarsteller, den Rennlegenden auf vier Rädern, setzt der Künstler Bernd Luz mit den Elementen des Abstrakten und der PopArt gekonnt in Szene. Entstanden sind farbintensive, emotionale Bildmotive, die vom 29. März bis 13. August 2017 im Rahmen der Reihe „MobilArt. Kunst im AutoMuseum Volkswagen.“ zu sehen sind.

Offene Versuchung. Cabrio-Meilensteine.

Sonderaustellung vom 16. März bis 17. September 2017.

Vom 16. März bis 17. September 2017 zieht pures Schönwetter-Feeling ins AutoMuseum Volkswagen ein. Die neue Sonderausstellung „Offene Versuchung. Cabrio-Meilensteine.“ begibt sich auf eine über 130 Jahre währende Reise durch die Cabriolet-Historie. Waren offene Wagen zu Beginn des Automobilbaus die Regel, avancierten sie in den 1920er Jahren zu begehrten Luxusgütern. Dem folgte ein immer breiteres Angebot einschließlich preiswerter Cabrios und Roadster. In der neueren Zeit trat der Fahrspaß  in den Vordergrund. Zu sehen sind 22 markenübergreifend ausgewählte Modelle. Sie zeigen den Variantenreichtum der „Oben-Ohne-Modelle“ und geben Einblick in verschiedene Verdeck-Technologien.

Ruppe Piccolo: Ruppe war eine von 1904 bis 1910 agierende Automobil-manufaktur in Apolda, Thüringen. Wegen wirtschaftlicher Probleme ging sie in der Firma Apollo auf. Installiert wurden ein V2, ein V4 und schließlich ein Reihen-Vierzylinder. Der Motor saß vorn, die Emanzipation weg von der Kutsche hatte hier bereits obsiegt. Über der Besatzung ließ sich ein Klappverdeck aufspannen. Eine Frontscheibe oder Türen gab es in jener Zeit in solchen Autos nicht oder nur improvisiert.

Ruppe Piccolo, 1905

Horch 853 A: Horch war eine der Marken der 1932 gegründeten Auto Union. Unter diesem Namen liefen Oberklasse- und Luxuswagen mit den vier Ringen – bis zum noblen Zwölf-zylinder. Die 850er-Modellreihe folgte auf den „Hoch 8“. 1937 debütierte das überarbeitete 853 Sport-Kabriolett – hier mit 5,35 m langem Werksaufbau. Ab 1937 brachte der 5,0-Liter-Reihenachter 120 statt 100 PS. Der 853 A (A für Autobahn) erhielt einen drehzahlsenkenden „Ferngang“.

Horch 853 A, 1937

Victoria Spatz: Einstiegsautos – von manchen seinerzeit verächtlich als „Verkehrsverhinderer“ verspottet, aber heute heiß begehrt – wie die Isetta oder der Kleinschnittger waren allemal besser als ein dem Regen ausgesetztes Zweirad. Der binnen zwei Jahren immerhin 1.588 Mal gebaute, türen-lose Kunststoff-Roadster kam aus Bayern. Beteiligt an der Entwicklung waren Egon Brütsch und anschließend Hans Ledwinka.

Victoria Spatz, 1958

Skoda Felicia: Auch im Ostblock entstanden Roadster und kleine Cabrios – beispielsweise von Wartburg/Eisenach und Skoda /Mlada Boleslav. 1959 wurde das bisherige Skoda-Modell 450 in „Felicia“ umbenannt, nun gab es auch ein Hardtop. Der Motor saß vorn, angetrieben wurde die Hinterachse. Zunächst hatte der Viersitzer noch Heckflossen (wie bei diesem in Tschechien genutzten Alltagsmodell), die später einem simpleren Heckabschluss weichen mussten.

Skoda Felicia, 1961

Mazda MX 5: Ausgerechnet die Japaner belebten Ende der 80er-Jahre das Segment  der knackigen Roadster neu. Der zuerst in den USA präsentierte Mazda Miata wirkte wie ein neu aufgelegter Lotus und avancierte zum Kultmobil – bei uns als MX-5. Besonderheit des Zweisitzers war, dass er die klassischen Tugenden englischer Sportwägelchen fortführte: mechanisch zu betätigendes Notverdeck, bissiger Motor unter der langen Fronthaube, Heckantrieb und kleiner Kofferraum.

Mazda MX 5, 1989

T-Cross Breeze: Offroad-Cabrios scheinen sich zu einem neuen Trend zu entwickeln. Land Rover war der erste, der mit dem Evoque ein solches Auto in Serie brachte. Technologisch schon viel weiter ist das VW-Konzeptfahrzeug T-Cross Breeze. Das in der Polo-Klasse angesiedelte Gelände-Cabrio (4,13 m kurz) wurde im März 2016 in Genf vorgestellt. Nicht zuletzt dank seiner zukunftsweisenden, technischen Features könnte es bestens ins künftige Produktportfolio der Marke passen.

T-Cross Breeze, 2016

Hinter den Augen sehen.

Abstrakte Aufnahmen aus China und Deutschland vom 10. Januar bis 18. März 2017.

Mit seiner Ausstellung „Hinter den Augen sehen“ geht der Fotograf Kai Grüber der Frage der individuellen Wahrnehmung von Realität nach. Vom 10. Januar bis 19. März 2017 zeigt das AutoMuseum Volkswagen abstrakte Aufnahmen aus China und Deutschland, die dem Betrachter für seine eigene Interpretation der Bildmotive dank der Verwischung viel Spielraum lässt.

Hinter den Augen...